Retford Lions Club to the rescue

by | 24 November 2023 | Lions, Retford

Lions were quick to come forward with help for Retford people whose homes were flooded recently. In little over a week, those affected were invited to apply for grants of up to £250.

Lion President Margaret Campbell commented: “We wish we could do more but hope these small grants will help those most affected recover from the damage caused by flooding. Retford people generously support our charity fundraising and we will always do what we can to give help locally when it is needed.”

If you think you are eligible for this Lions help but have not yet applied contact floodrelief@retfordlionsclub.co.uk.

Lions are getting ready to take Santa out around Retford again. His sleigh has been repainted this year and has new lights and sound system. Children can also see him in his grotto in Retford Town Hall on Sunday 26th November.

His schedule for December with the Lions is below. You can follow his progress on the tracker at www.lionstracksanta.com and updates will posted on Lions’ Facebook page. In some places his sleigh will park for 20 minutes or so at the times stated. Elsewhere, it will travel around the streets between 5.00pm and 8.00pm and Santa’s helpers will call at individual houses.

Take your children to have a chat with Santa and they will each get a small gift. There is no charge but donations, in cash or by card or phone, will help fund Lions work in the community.

  • Friday 8th December: 6.10pm – Trinity Fields estate; then Rectors Gate / Northfield Way area
  • Saturday 9th December: 5.15pm – Treswell Village Hall; 6.15pm – East Markham Village Hall; then Eldon Gardens and Burleigh Close, Tuxford
  • Sunday 10th December: Hirst Road, Springfield Way, Claters Close area
  • Monday 11th December: 6.10pm – Portland Road; 6.35pm – Old Hall Drive; 7.00pm – Jubillee Road; 7.25pm Wharncliffe Road
  • Tuesday 12th December: Blossom Grove, Bacopa Drive area
  • Wednesday 13th December: Whinney Moor Lane, Thrumpton Lane area
  • Thursday 14th December: Grace Road, Trent Bridge Road, Headingley Road area
  • Friday 15th December: 6.10pm – White Park Place; 6.35pm – Black Hereford Way; 7.00pm – Thoresby Way; 7.25pm – St Andrews Way
  • Sunday 17th December: Clinton Gardens, Faraday Avenue, Gilbert Avenue area in Tuxford
  • Monday 18th December: Northfield Way, Trinity Road area
  • Tuesday 19th December: Camborne Crescent, Heathfeld Gardens area
  • Wednesday 20th December: 6.10pm – Longholme Road; 6.35pm – Matlida Drive; 7.00pm – Waterfields; 7.25pm – North Road Coop
  • Thursday 21st December: 6.10pm – Trent Street; 6.40pm – Holy Mount; 7.00pm – Strawberry Road; 7.30pm – Farm View

Santa will also be at Morrisons on Friday 22th December and in Carolgate on Saturday 16th December.