Mansfield Palace Theatre recently enjoyed their most successful year yet, with 100,000 visitors choosing to see shows. As they continue to build on their reputation as the town’s premier entertainment offering, they have put together a programme with something to suit all tastes this autumn and winter.

The Dreamboys are coming to town on Monday 11th and Tuesday 12th September for the ultimate girl’s night out.
Current comedy names have been secured by the Palace in the forthcoming season. Star of quiz panels shows QI and Have I Got News for You, Rich Hall, is first to take to the stage on Thursday 14th September, followed shortly after by Lee Nelson’s Serious Joker Tour on Thursday 19th October.

Masque Productions bring us their one-night variety show, A Palace of Variety, on Sunday 17th September and return between Tuesday 7th and Saturday 11th November with Victoria Wood’s hilarious musical, Acorn Antiques. Other local talent performing in the coming months includes:

  • Inspirations Theatre Company present Gypsy from Thursday 21st to Saturday 23rd September.
  • Mansfield and Bellamy Royal British Legion branch present their annual Festival of Remembrance on Sunday 29th October.
  • Mansfield’s New Youth Theatre group will perform Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat on Tuesday 21st and Wednesday 22nd November.

If musical tributes are your preference, That’ll be the Day promises you an evening of music, laughter, and non-stop nostalgia on Tuesday 19th September. The Live Aid Experience on Saturday 28th October guarantees to have you singing your heart out and dancing in the aisles, as a full live rock band and incredible singers re-enact that famous night thirty years ago when artists such as Elton John, Status Quo and Madonna came together to stage a momentous fundraising gig.

Alternatively, you may wish to attend tribute evenings dedicated to just one artist:

  • Beautiful Noise — Neil Diamond tribute on Wednesday 4th October
  • Totally Tina — Tina Turner tribute on Thursday 12th October
  • FastLove — George Michael tribute on Friday 13th October
  • Mercury — Queen tribute on Friday 20th October
  • King of Pop — Michael Jackson tribute on Saturday 21st October
  • Some Guys have all the Luck — Rod Stewart tribute on Friday 27th October
  • Macca — Paul McCartney tribute on Friday 17th November
  • Starman — David Bowie tribute on Saturday 18th November
  • Holly at Christmas — Buddy Holly tribute on Thursday 23th November
  • Someone Like You — Adele tribute on Friday 24th November

Original members of the Kinks — Mick Avory, John Dalton, Ian Gibbons and Dave Clarke — are reunited in The Kast Off Kinks on Thursday 16th November.

A new folk programme is being offered in the venue’s refurbished upstairs Studio, with two winners of BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards starting the proceedings. Rachel Newton won Musician of the Year in 2017 and will be performing on Wednesday 25th October. Next up is Martin Carthy — who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2014 — on Friday 17th November.

There is plenty of music to reminisce to scheduled before the end of the year, and several familiar faces from TV and radio appearing at Mansfield Palace Theatre in the next few months, for a variety of tastes as well as four family shows on offer in the coming season.

As always, the season ends with a festive feast fit for the whole family. This year’s pantomime stars Australian Mark Little in the ironically giant tale of Jack and the Beanstalk. Mark — who is most well-known for his role as Joe Mangel in Neighbours — will be playing the character you love to hate, Fleshcreep. The show really will be bigger and better than ever with the introduction of 3D effects to the performances, so who knows, maybe the baddie really will be ‘behind you!’

For more information please call Box Office on 01623 633133 or visit www.mansfieldpalace.co.uk.